DWI/DUI

White Plains DWI Lawyer

Defending Westchester clients against DUI charges

shutterstock_74617723-300x192New York State takes driving while intoxicated seriously. Courts are aggressive and law enforcement is proactive when combatting DWIs. If you are convicted of a DWI in New York, it could devastate your life. A first DWI conviction is a misdemeanor. A second and subsequent DWI is a felony. If you are convicted of a crime that subjects you to a criminal record, it is permanent and can impact your future. Blood alcohol content (BAC) determines how impaired you are. You will be charged with a DWI if you:

  • Are over 21 and documented with a 0.08% BAC
  • Drive a commercial vehicle and are documented with a 0.04% BAC
  • Are younger than 21 and are documented with a BAC of 0.02%

If you have been charged with a DWI, you need an experienced and effective law firm to defend your case and work to lessen the charges. With many years of successful results, the founding attorney, Luis Andrew Penichet, and his legal team will tailor a legal approach to your circumstances and goals in order to minimize or avoid the impact of a drunk driving conviction. If you quality defense, contact The Penichet Firm, P.C. for a consultation.

First offense DWI

A first offense DWI conviction is a misdemeanor. If you are charged with a first DWI, you could face the following if convicted:

  • Revocation of license for 6 months
  • A fine ranging from $500 – $1,000
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • The possibility of jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program at cost to you

Second offense DWI

A second DWI conviction is a class E felony. If you are charged with a second DWI within 10 years of the first offense, you could face the following if convicted:

  • License revocation for at least 1 year
  • A fine ranging $1,000 – $5,000
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • The possibility of jail time up to 4 years, with a minimum of 5 days in jail or 30 days of community service
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you

DWI younger than 21

If you are younger than 21 and caught with a BAC of 0.02%, you could face the following if convicted of a first offense:

  • License suspension for 6 months
  • $125 civil fine
  • A suspension termination $100
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation at cost to you

If you are younger than 21 and caught driving while intoxicated for the second time, you could face the following if convicted:

  • A revoked license for 1 year (or until you turn 21 years old)
  • $125 civil fine
  • A suspension termination fee of $100
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation at cost to you

Aggravated DWI

If your BAC is 0.18% or higher, you may be charged with an Aggravated DWI (A-DWI). The consequence of a first A-DWI conviction are quite severe and can include:

  • A revoked license for at least a year
  • A fine ranging from $1,000 – $2,500
  • A total of $750 in fines over 3 years as part of the state’s Driver Responsibility Program
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you

If you are convicted of a second A-DWI within 10 years of the first, you face a class E Felony. You could face:

  • A revoked license for at least 18 months
  • A fine up to $5,000
  • A total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Jail time up to 4 years.
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) at cost to you

Contact an experienced Westchester DWI law firm

The Penichet Firm, P.C. has successfully defended countless clients facing DWIs in New York State. Our firm’s commitment to clients has allowed us to celebrate the esteemed reputation we enjoy today. If you are charged with a DWI, you need a seasoned and effective law firm to defend your future. If you need high caliber legal services, do not hesitate to contact The Penichet Firm, P.C.